• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


Federal Agencies

Homeland Security Presidential Directive 12 (HSPD 12) was issued in 2004 requiring all federal agencies to follow a common identity standard for employees and contractors.  Since that time more than 4 million PIV credentials have been issued by federal agencies.  The credentials are being used to access federal facilities, networks, and systems. It is anticipated that in the coming years in excess of 20 million PIV-I credentials will be in use by affiliated parties, trading partners, and suppliers to access federal systems and facilities.

In 2009 the federal government released the Identity, Credential, and Access Management (ICAM) Roadmap and Implementation Guidance.  The ICAM program has also been mandated across all federal agencies.  It requires the agencies to implement a program to move towards a standardized identity architecture based on a single digital identity for federal users and affiliated parties who used federal systems.  Eventually most federal systems will require PIV credentials for access by federal employees and PIV-I credentials for access by affiliated parties.

Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Memorandum 11-11 requires federal agencies to meet specific milestones in the implementation of systems that use PIV credentials for access to buildings, systems, and networks.

Probaris’ products and services are being used in multiple agencies to support their initiatives to implement the new federal identity policies, systems, and technologies.


Consulting Services

  • Probaris ID™ credentialing implementation
  • Program management support
  • Privacy impact assessments
  • Policy assessment + change mgmt
  • Requirements analysis
  • Architecture and design services
  • Logical access usage
  • eAuthentication risk assessments